Inter-insular darts: Jersey seek revenge

- Advertisement -

On Saturday Jersey will bid for inter-insular revenge at the Royal Hotel.

But before that, tomorrow night, come the Channel Islands finals where the winners of the JLVDA winter league competitions play Guernsey’s winter league.

The inter-insular will be the islands’ 23rd meeting for the Louis Lamb Trophy and Jersey are ahead 13-9 overall – but still smarting from their 6-3 defeat in Guernsey last year.

Jersey’s side includes includes six Tivoli men and is once again captained by the Tiv’s Joe Bell.

Also keeping their places from last year are Tiv’s Eddie Le Bailly, Bobby Williams, Michael Oakes and Rene Turmel plus Jeff Lotherington and Dave Eusebini from winter league champs White Horse and Kenny Horton from Robin Hood A.

Tivoli man Andy Falcaunbridge, and the Robin Hood A’s Kevin Frain make their debuts.

The men’s clash will come after the Maple Leaf Darts League ladies inter-insular.

The first time this trophy was played for was 1997, the result was 7-2 to Guernsey.

In 1998 a further match was played and Jersey won 6-3.

The day starts with a Jersey Select B team playing a friendly against a French side.

The highlight of tomorrow night’s CI finals will be the Rose Bowl singles.

In the Jersey final Bobby Williams from the Tivoli will play Kenny Horton from the Robin Hood with the winner going on to meet the Guernsey champion.

Jersey’s players in the other competitions are – 4-a-side: Tivoli: Joe Bell, Bobby Williams, Eddie Le Bailly, Michael Oakes (sub: Terry Pritchard).

Triples: Kenny Horton, Kevin Frain (Robin Hood) Jenny Couillard (Foresters).

Pairs: Kenny Horton, Kevin Frain (Robin Hood).

Licensee: Julio Moniz (The Office).

The games will start at 8.30 pm.

On Saturday the doors will open at 1 pm with the games beginning at 2 pm.

The ladies match is due to start at 5.30 pm and the men’s inter insular at 8.30 pm.

Entrance is free.

Jersey Select B: Mark James (capt.), Rob Benest, Dave Richards, Mark Buckingham, Paul Abbott, Terry Pritchard, Stuart McGrogan, Phil Evans, John Pallot Brown and Darren Bree.

Jersey Ladies: Angie Le Bailly (capt.), Donna Le Clerq, Sue Le Flahec, Chris Lowe, Hilary Chatel, Heidi White, Hazel Whiteford, Teresa Ward, Shirley Smith and Pearl Le Long.

Guernsey Men: Mick Le Gallic (capt), Rob Davidson, Rob Foss, Jason Allez, Mick Ogier, Paul Leale, Derrick Leale, Martin Ashworth, Colin Prigent and John Cussack.

Guernsey Ladies: Sue Topley (non-playing capt.), Gill Le Cras, Alvena Renouf, Linda Eborall, Pauline Chick, Yvonne Travis, Jo Fallaize, Tracy Ingrouille, Ann Fallaize, Charlene Topley and June Allen.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories

- Advertisement -

UK News

Read the latest free supplements

Read the Town Crier, Le Rocher and a whole host of other subjects like mortgage advice, business, cycling, travel and property.