It’s Herbert and Cann against Guernsey trio in CI Sports Awards

- Advertisement -

The Sarnians are previous winners Dale Garland of athletics fame and world touring car champion Andy Priaulx, last year’s winner, and top track and cross-country runner Lee Merrien.

Cann and Herbert both achieved at high levels last year, England No 2 Cann lifting the national championship and Herbert having a trophy-laden season with her club Leicester Fyffes followed by tournament glory with the senior England side in Korea and a U21 World Cup in Chile.

Although the awards will not be televised live this year the same voting format will stand with the public deciding the winner.

The votelines, to be announced later this week, will be open from next Monday.

Jersey once again dominate the NatWest Rising Star category with AFC Bournemouth footballer Brett Pitman joined by rugby player Matt Banahan of London Irish, England U17 netballer Serena Guthrie and international badminton starlet Marianna Agathangelou.

Guernsey’s challenger is talented cricketer Tim Ravenscroft.

Team of the Year has an even split between the two main islands with the Sarnians represented by British outdoor bowls pairs champs Dan de la Mare and Matt le Ber, the all-conquering Cobo Cricket Club and Siam Cup winners Guernsey RFC who also won promotion to London South West Division III.

Jersey have strong bids with the Island badminton squad’s showing in the Shetland Island Games, the Gilson inter-insular and Inter-County championships, the Royal Jersey Golf Club’s lifting of the Hampshire Seven-a-side trophy, and Jersey RFC’s winning of the London South West Division III championship with a 100 per cent record.

Jersey RFC’s Dai Burton, last year’s winner of the coach of the year award, is again nominated in that category.

He is joined by the Island’s hockey development officer Shelagh Herbert for her excellent work at all levels of the game.

Guernsey have three nominations, Island football coach Steve Ogier, Becky O’Keefe from table tennis and Beau Séjour Barracudas Swimming Club’s Alison Frankland.

There will once again be a Sporting Hero award.

The winners will be announced on 26 January.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories

- Advertisement -

UK News

Read the latest free supplements

Read the Town Crier, Le Rocher and a whole host of other subjects like mortgage advice, business, cycling, travel and property.