SCF pick cup regulars for final

- Advertisement -

Regulars Tim Kearsey, James Ollivro and Stuart Truscott will all be involved as the Division I leaders look to extend their unbeaten run this season without the prolific Matt Hague and the Carlyon brothers – Steve and Tony – and former Island captain Meeku Patidar.

SCF captain Bradley Vowden said: ‘It would be easy to bring everyone back in but that would not be fair to the players who have played most games and got us to the final.

‘I’m captain and I’m being loyal to the players who have helped us get where we are.

Stuart and James are known as “”professional fielders”” within our club while Tim has done well having moved up from Division III last season.

‘All we ask of him is to bowl straight, wicket to wicket, and he has done it well proving to be a useful fifth bowler to us in this competition.

‘St Helier are enjoying a good season too.

They are second in their division and they won a cup recentlty.

We will not underestimate them; they have many experienced players and they posted a big score in their semi-final win.’ Vowden says he likes the new Twenty20 format being played in the KO this season because it gives players the chance to bat longer while also encouraging them to have a go at the bowlers from the start.

St Helier captain Mick Poulter said: ‘We’re looking forward to the game, it’s a tough one and hopefully we will do well.

We will be up against it and it’s down to us to perform well.

‘Grant Phillips is away so we are without our best bowler but sometimes someone may come in and do equally as good a job.

‘We’ve done well this season I feel because we have two left-handers in the top four.

The opposition’s bowlers don’t have much time getting into a routine when the left-handers are in and I think that has gone in our favour.

‘I’ve not seen Sporting Club play this year but they must be playing well as they’ve not lost a game.

They have the habit of winning, it seems to be second nature to them over the years.

‘We must take our chances when they come along – no dropped catches could be a key for us.’ The match at Grainville, which starts at 6 pm, will be umpired by Phil Hermitage and Barry Breuilly.

SCF squad: Bradley Vowden, Paul Carberry, Justin Le Fort, Peter Gough, Simon Short, Jason Carpenter, Trevor Rousseau, Nick Jewell, James Ollivro, Stuart Truscott, Tim Kearsey and Mark Reynolds.

St Helier squad: Richard Gomersall, Jules Nolli, Dean Morrison, Nigel Maton, Sean Roche, Dave Workman, Pat Dean, Lee Kent, Dave Thomas, Gary Pipes, Lee Graveson and Mick Poulter.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories

- Advertisement -

UK News

Read the latest free supplements

Read the Town Crier, Le Rocher and a whole host of other subjects like mortgage advice, business, cycling, travel and property.