Touch target is fourth Euro title

- Advertisement -

Having won the title six years ago in Scotland, they successfully defended it in Cardiff and then for a second time in 2004 in a nerve-wracking final at Jersey Rugby Club.

And, according to coach Daniel McDowell, ‘all the squad hope that the mixed side will return on Monday with another title in tow.’ A squad of 42, consisting of a men’s, women’s and mixed team travel to Edinburgh, although McDowell insists that the single-sex teams are taking part ‘largely to gain the experience’.

‘We’ve two or three very young players, like Michael Le Bourgeoise and Joe Ellyatt and Tom Breeze who are both still at school,’ he said.

‘However, the nucleus of the players is similar to those whose played two years ago, and the mixed side is virtually the same which won the four nations competition.

‘So Chrissie Hefford is again selected; Kevin McGinty will also be going, while this year’s captain will be Danny Curzons.’ France There are more than British teams in the competition this year, too.

As well as the Home countries, Germany and France are sending teams; in the mixed there is a guest New Zealand Academy side, which has been sent over, and in the ladies’ competition both Switzerland and Belgium, new to the sport, will be entering teams.

The players, who are being sponsored by Ernst and Young, have been training twice a week, for the last 11 or 12 weeks, and the tournament begins on Friday with games also on Saturday and Sunday.

‘This year we won’t be relying so much on speed, as solid technique.’ Morag (Obarska) is manager again – and I know she’d love to bring back a trophy.

One advantage we have in the mixed team is the strength of the women’s play.

All seven are accomplished players.’ Mixed: Mark Knight, Chris Veal, Andy Morgan, Ben Small, Suzanne Shore, Arnou Helmholt-Kneisel (captain), Chrissie Hefford, Clare Le Maistre, Rena Nelson, Zoe Smart, Sarah Kerley, Heidi McGinty, Kevin McGinty, Mark White.

Ladies: Caroline Marsh, Lucy Carro, Claire Le Quesne, Jo Jeffery, Fiona Maclean, Giselle Gosselin, Michelle Bichard, Sam De Gruchy, Mary Blampied, Sam Horsfall, Keri Mildenhall, Lucy Race, Cara Mackay.

Men: Danny Curzons, Nik Mildenhall, Michael Hawkins, Joe Ellyatt, Michael Le Bourgeois, Luke Fisher, Terry Oliveira, Luke Chipperfield, Dale Fischer, Tim de Gruchy, Tom Breeze.

Coach: Dan McDowell.

Manager: Morag Obarska.

Physiotherapist: Michael du Feu.

Referee: Cliff Chipperfield.

Teams competing: Scotland, Belgium, New Zealand (academy), France, Wales, England, Germany, Guernsey, Switzerland, Holland, Jersey.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories

- Advertisement -

UK News

Read the latest free supplements

Read the Town Crier, Le Rocher and a whole host of other subjects like mortgage advice, business, cycling, travel and property.