Gorey Regatta

- Advertisement -

DESPITE light winds, there was fierce competition at this year’s Gorey Regatta – one of the oldest regattas in the world and now in its 152nd year.

Dave Williams had three wins on Tom Bombadil with success in the Commodore’s Cup race from Gorey to St Helier, the De Faye Memorial Cup, and the Stevens Centenary Challenge Cup race from St Helier to Gorey.

It was a hat-trick of victories for Heather Speller’s Flasher, as she won the Assinder Cup, Marmotier Trophy and the Norman Challenge, and for Harry Moisin on Ooh La La with success in the two Ecréhoes Trophies as well as the Fifth Gorey Cup.

Nick Bailhache’s Fillipene took the honours in the Le Riche Challenge Cup and won the Richardson Trophy. There were also wins for Julian Barber’s Super Q (Glendewar Challenge Cup), Philippe Broquet’s L’Amoric (Yangstze Cup), Ian Simpson’s Cunnong Plan (Fourth Gorey Cup), and Martin Speller’s Liquid Logic (Perchard Memorial Trophy).

George Moisan was triumphant in the GT Labey Memorial Junior Trophy and came away with the Edward Heath Memorial trophy for his perseverance in the frustrating conditions – the trophy being awarded to the competitor who had an outstanding performance in the opinion of the race officer Rodney Waller.

• Pictures: David Ferguson

• Picture sales: Click herenextpage

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories

- Advertisement -

UK News

Read the latest free supplements

Read the Town Crier, Le Rocher and a whole host of other subjects like mortgage advice, business, cycling, travel and property.