Public voting first for Council’s main award

- Advertisement -

Nominations for the Council’s four main awards were unveiled by organisers this morning, including a Sports Personality of the Year short-list which ranks as one of the strongest in the event’s history.

Commonwealth Games hopefuls Sam Dawkins (athletics), Cameron Pirouet (shooting) and Dan Halksworth (cycling/triathlon) are all on the final list following their efforts on international stages in 2017, while Archery World Cup medallist Lucy O’Sullivan, British Disability Gymnastics champion Alex Buesnel and World Champion of Champions bowler Thomas Greechan have also made the cut.

In previous years award winners have been chosen by a selection panel, but after teaming up with sponsors Airtel Vodafone JSC chairman Hugh Raymond has opted to give Islanders the final say.

‘It will be mobile phone voting, and people who phone through will have six choices,’ he said.

‘We are doing it over a short period to keep the concentration levels up, so voting will start at 9 am on Saturday 24 February. More information will be available shortly.

‘I’m expecting this year’s event to be one of the best yet.

‘It would be silly not to say we’re really excited about it, and I’m chuffed to bits with the strength of all of the short-lists.’

Winners of the Perpetual Team Trophy, Sid Guy Memorial Trophy (long service), Colin Welsh Memorial Trophy (unsung hero) and JSC achievement award will still be chosen by event officials, while two £500 bursaries will also be handed out – one each for under-18s and over-18s.

Award short-lists published in Tuesday’s JEP.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories

- Advertisement -

UK News

Read the latest free supplements

Read the Town Crier, Le Rocher and a whole host of other subjects like mortgage advice, business, cycling, travel and property.