The new Premier League season in numbers

- Advertisement -

Ahead of the start of the new Premier League season on August 10, Press Association Sport takes a look at the key statistics.

100 – points for last season’s champions Manchester City, one of a host of records they broke.

8/11 – City are odds-on favourites with the bookmakers to win the title again, with Liverpool (9/2) and Manchester United (6/1) viewed as the main challengers.

10 – years since a team last retained the title, a note of caution for Pep Guardiola and his side. Only Manchester United and Chelsea have ever achieved the feat.

6 – winners of the Premier League since its rebranding.

  • 13 – Manchester United
  • 5 – Chelsea
  • 3 – Arsenal, Manchester City
  • 1 – Blackburn, Leicester

30 – the goal landmark reached by Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah (32) and Tottenham’s Harry Kane (30) last season. There have now been a dozen 30-goal Premier League seasons by 10 different players – only Alan Shearer has achieved it more than once.

6 – half a dozen clubs have been ever-present in the Premier League since its inception in 1992 – Arsenal, Chelsea, Everton, Liverpool, Manchester United and Tottenham.

30 – points collected by Cardiff in their only previous Premier League season. No team averages fewer points per season, though Swindon’s matching record came in a 42-game season.

4 – Premier League seasons for fellow newcomers Wolves, with two relegations and an average of 34 points.

Roy Hodgson
Fulham enjoyed success at home and abroad under Roy Hodgson (Dave Thompson/PA)

6 – Kane shares Steven Gerrard’s record for the most Premier League player of the month awards. Gerrard’s six were spread over 13 years; Kane’s have come since January 2015.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Stories

- Advertisement -

UK News

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Read the latest free supplements

Read the Town Crier, Le Rocher and a whole host of other subjects like mortgage advice, business, cycling, travel and property.